birds in the air a novel

From Frances O’Roark Dowell — bestselling author of Dovey Coe, Trouble the Water, The Secret Language of Girls, and other “beloved books for tweens and teenagers” (New York Times Sunday Book Review) — comes Birds in the Air, a novel.

Birds in the Air

  • AUTHOR: Frances O’Roark Dowell
  • PUBLISHER: Milton Falls Media, Inc.
  • PUBLICATION DATE: 9/21/2016
  • FORMAT: Trade Paperback
  • ISBN: 978-1-945354-00-7 (Paperback)
  • ISBN: 978-1-945354-01-4 (Ebook)
  • PRICE: $15.95 (Trade Paperback); $5.99 (Ebook)
  • DISTRIBUTION: Ingram Content Group

For more information on Birds in the Air please write to publicity@miltonfallsmedia.com

PRESS PACKET — BIRDS IN THE AIR

Acclaimed Author of Novels for Young Readers Draws on ‘Quilting Life’ to Pen First Book for Adults

DURHAM, N.C. (June 1, 2016)– From Frances O’Roark Dowell — bestselling author of Dovey Coe, Trouble the Water, The Secret Language of Girls, and other “beloved books for tweens and teenagers” (New York Times Sunday Book Review) — comes Birds in the Air, her first novel for adults.

In the tradition of Marie Bostwick and Jennifer Chiaverini, Dowell combines her deep connection to the quilting life and her love of storytelling to create a novel about the abiding friendships that bind together a community of women who share a passion for making quilts.

While Dowell is best known for her award-winning novels for middle grade readers, over the last six years she has also hosted “The Off-Kilter Quilt” podcast, amassing hundreds of thousands of downloads and making friends with fellow quilters around the globe. It was these new friends she had in mind when she decided to write a novel about quilting.

“When you love something as much as we love quilting, you want to immerse yourself in it,” Dowell says. “For me as a writer, the idea of telling stories about quilts and the women who make them is just irresistible. Not only do I get to make quilts, I get to make up stories about quilts! And I’ve had incredible support from my friends to do just that.”

Birds in the Air introduces us to Emma Byrd, who’s just moved into the house of her dreams in the small mountain community of Sweet Anne’s Gap, where she knows that making friends may prove to be her biggest challenge. Her husband loves his new job and her kids are finding their way at school. But Emma — no natural when it comes to talking to strangers — will have to try a little harder, especially after the sweet, white-haired neighbor she first visits slams the door in her face.

Luckily, a few of the quilters of Sweet Anne’s Gap adopt Emma and she soon finds herself organizing the quilt show for the town’s centennial celebration. But not everyone is happy to see the job go to an outsider, especially one who has befriended an outcast pursuing her own last best chance at redemption.

With Birds in the Air, Frances O’Roark Dowell (winner of the Edgar Award, the William Allen White Award and the Christopher Medal) has created a warm, funny novel about fitting in, falling out and mending frayed relationships one stitch at a time.

* * *

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Frances O’Roark Dowell is the bestselling and critically acclaimed author of Dovey Coe, which won the Edgar Award and the William Allen White Award; Where I’d Like to Be; The Secret Language of Girls and its sequels The Kind of Friends We Used to Be and The Sound of Your Voice, Only Really Far Away; Chicken Boy; Shooting the Moon, which was awarded the Christopher Medal; the Phineas L. MacGuire series; Falling In; the critically acclaimed The Second Life of Abigail Walker; Anybody Shining; Ten Miles Past Normal; and most recently, Trouble the Water. She lives with her husband and two sons in Durham, North Carolina. Learn more online at FrancesDowell.com and OffKilterQuilt.com.

# # #